Sustainable Hepburn Association – Renewing the Earth (SHARE) is a not-for-profit, non-political community association run by volunteers. SHARE has around 500 members and is focused on the Shire of Hepburn, Victoria, Australia.

Our background

SHARE is the initiating organisation (then HREA) of Australia’s first community owned windfarm Hepburn Wind in 2006. From 2007 to 2014 SHARE continued to be active in the renewable energy space, conducting major events, festivals, education and projects that promoted sustainability locally and regionally. These included solar bulk buys, retrofitting (Refit’n’nsave), energy assessments for business and local government, Sustainable House Day, Good Life Festival, Sustainably Stories and films, Buy Local Campaign, Transition towns and more. SHARE has now gone low key, but continues to collaborate and support other community sustainability groups behind the scenes.

Our purpose: to cultivate sustainable community

SHARE is committed to providing space that promotes the growth of communities that are environmentally responsible, socially connected and economically vibrant now and into the future.

We intend to achieve this by working together to

  • use natural resources wisely & reduce waste
  • grow, produce & purchase locally
  • develop and share resources, knowledge & skills
  • foster sustainable thinking and actions
  • facilitate the uptake of renewable energy

We support initiatives that care for our environment and build strong and vibrant community.

Our vision, values and key strategies

(c) model developed by The Zone

Core Strategy 1: Create a sustainable organisation

  • Build and connect with membership
  • Create working groups
  • Communicate regularly

Core Strategy 2: Be the ears and voice of sustainability

  • Create a useful website
  • Produce regular newsletters / Green News
  • Connect with Council

Core Strategy 3: Connect & catalyse local sustainability initiatives

  • We support what is happening by an agreed selection criteria that fit our core values
  • Identify priority projects
  • Get the word out

Core Strategy 4: Build capacity

  • Inspiration and motivation through programs, education, forums we originate
  • Connecting with community groups
  • We make it happen

Our committee

Laurel Web

Laurel Freeland, Chair

Laurel is a social change agent whose work spans the business and community sector with more than 20 years of rural, regional and national experience. She is the current caretaker Chairman. Laurel joined the committee in 2007 and has shared a rotating Chairmanship since 2009. In her other life Laurel works as a facilitator, coach, research and project manager in a range of sustainability, climate change, leadership, Ecopsychology and values education and practical projects in government, business and universities. She holds Masters of Education (Social Ecology), Grad Dip in Vocational Education and Training for Sustainability, Carbon accounting certificate and a Diploma People Centred Facilitation and Training. She has trained with systems theorist and deep ecologists Joanna Macy and John Seed as well as other leaders in environmental education. She cares deeply about living in harmony with others and the planet and emphasizes the importance of making choices that enhance all life, now and in the future.


Jacobus “Koos” Hulst,  Treasurer

In 2005 Koos and his wife Carol purchased the fifty hectare Sault property and restaurant in Sailors Falls and have since then secured a Council planning permit to develop the property into a well-being centre with, amongst others, accommodation, conference centre and spa retreat. Their vision statement is: A healthy mind in a healthy body, in harmony with nature.

As part of our development plans for Sault Estate, Koos has written a water management plan for the well-being centre which involves the harvesting and storage of rainwater and on-site biological treatment of wastewater by which 75% of the produced wastewater on the property will be recycled.

Koos is also Deputy Chairman of the Hepburn Community Wind Park Cooperative, establishing Australia’s first community-owned wind park in Leonards Hill, member of the Destination Daylesford Steering Committee, member of the Daylesford CFA, and a committee member of the Daylesford and District Community Bank®.

Nikki Marshall



Anthony Smith


Rules of the Association

Read the association rules  SHARE_Rules_Sept_2011


Leave a Reply